Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association
Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association


The TFGA is governed by a board of ten directors; one from each of the three telephone districts in Tasmania, one from each of our five commodity councils and two independent directors. They each serve three-year terms, which are staggered between the three categories of director.

Wayne Johnston


Wayne Johnston is a third generation farmer in the Meander Valley. He and his wife, Lisa, produce prime lambs, poppies, potatoes and cereals on about 400 ha.

Read more about Wayne

Marcus McShane

Vice Chair

Marcus McShane and his wife Diana run a mixed farming operation in the Midlands of Tasmania.

Read more about Marcus

Andrew Beven

Andrew is a practical person with trade background. He holds an Associate Diploma in Agriculture and an Advanced Diploma of Business Management and has spent 11 years in management roles for William Adams Pty Ltd and Hazell Bros Group, working at middle, senior and executive management levels.

Read more about Andrew

Allison Horswill

Beginning her agricultural career as General Manager of a domestic processing facility and wholesale meat company in far southern Tasmania, Allison now works as a Consultant in the meat industry and agricultural sector

Read more about Allison

Wendy Mitchell

Wendy is an Independent Board Director and on the Audit and Risk Committee.

Read more about Wendy

Matt Ryan

Matthew and his wife Trish are partners in their own farming operation, which includes potato and vegetable production, other cropping (poppies, cereals and pyrethrum), livestock and broiler production.

Read more about Matt

Michael Badcock

Michael has been involved in farmer advocacy and community groups for many years, including terms as Chairman of Vegetable Council for the TFGA and Ausveg.

Read more about Michael

Sue Smith

An Independent Board Director, Sue was the Legislative Council member for Leven and then Montgomery for 16 years. This included a term as President.

Read more about Sue

Andrew Aldridge

Andrew is a second-generation dairy farmer currently share farming 440 cows at Branxholm in the picturesque North East of Tasmania, along with his wife Jenny and their 4 young boys. 

Read more about Andrew

Ian Sauer

Ian has been actively involved in Agriculture, Natural Resource Management, Policy formulation, project development, management, and community development over the past thirty years

Read more about Ian